Town of Riverview / News / Recognizing Riverview Celebrates Community Contributors In A Night to Remember
mayor stands at podium

Recognizing Riverview Celebrates Community Contributors In A Night to Remember

(RIVERVIEW, NB) - The Town of Riverview held a special Awards Gala on Tuesday, April 16th. Recognizing Riverview combined all community awards under one roof in an evening of immense celebration of volunteerism, athletics, youth, business and community spirit.

Alongside their special recognition, Serviceberry Trees will be planted in honour of the award recipients. Thank you to the UNESCO-designated Fundy Biosphere Region for donating these trees. Serviceberry is part of the Wabanaki Forest, a unique forest type only found in the Maritimes, and it is one of the many climate-resilient species Fundy Biosphere Region is planting to restore biodiversity and improve climate resilience in our forests as part of their Forest of the Future program. These trees contribute to 45,000 trees that will be planted by the Fundy Biosphere Region over three years and count toward the federal government's commitment to plant 2 billion trees by 2031. 

Volunteer Recognition 

For the past 40 years, the Town of Riverview has been recognizing its incredible volunteers by asking the groups and organizations within the Town to select their most deserving volunteer for that year, and put their name forward to receive a recognition certificate for their dedication and commitment to the growth and development of our community and its residents. Congratulations to all who give freely of their time to make Riverview a better place. Happy National Volunteer Week!

Genevieve Machum – Elderdog Canada  

John Mark Hanson – Riverview Knight of Columbus 

Amanda Devison – The Canadian Federation of Business and Professional Women 

Rodney Steeves – Fundy Hiking Trails Association 

Tammie Wilcox-Carrier – Riverview Arts Centre 

Mary Holt – Riverview Scouting 

Anne Bissonnette – Riverview Parks & Recreation  

Greg Trites – Riverview Fire & Rescue 

Sean Rollo – Riverview High School 

Duane LeBlanc – Riverview East Karate 

Geoff Cowan – Riverview Ringette Association 

Keith Lane – Riverview Pickleball Club 

Julie Hopkins – Albert County Food Bank 

Jillian Forsey – Girl Guides of Canada 

Mike Stone – Riverview Lion’s Club 

Wendy Marney – St. Paul’s United Church 

Robert Gould – Riverview Veterans and Armed Forces Association 

Diane Belanger & Nora Johnson – The Salvation Army Lakeview Manor 


Volunteer of the Year awards were given out in the following categories; 

  • Schools & churches  - Sheldon Macleod, Bethel Presbyterian Church

  • Sports & youth organizations - Jeff Melvin, 1st Moncton BPSA

  • Essential services  - Charlotte Love, The Grass Home

  • Committees & service clubs - Sydney Mason, Town of Riverview Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

  • Charities & non-profits - Anne Gallant, Riverview Public Library

group of volunteers

Youth Appreciation Awards  

Organizations also nominated Riverview youth in Grade 12 who make a difference in the community. Awards were presented in the following categories at the event;

  • Sports & Athletics  - Kate Hughes & Cohen Perry 

  • Arts & Culture - Peter Bayerle & Jessie Cudmore 

  • Community Service - Alex Harris & Keira Knowles 

  • Academics - Isabelle LeBlanc & Kiril Bourakov 

Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award 

The Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award celebrates a Riverview resident, group, organization or business for their valued contributions to creating and strengthening our vibrant community. Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award winners go above and beyond in devoting their time, energy and care to making Riverview an exceptional community. 

The Town of Riverview is pleased to announce Robert Taylor as the 2024 Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award recipient. Learn more about Rob's many contributions here.

Riverview Business Awards

In early 2024, the community voted for their favourite local businesses across three categories - Food & Beverage, Retail, Service and Business Longevity (25+ years). The winners were announced at last night's event.

  • Best in Service - JEM Beauty Salon

  • Best in Retail - The Covered Bridge Quiltery

  • Best in Food & Beverage - Five Bridges Bar & Grill

  • Business Longevity - The Homestead Restaurant

2024 Sports Wall of Fame

The final awards of the evening were years, and in some cases decades, in the making. Four incredible individuals were inducted to the Town of Riverview’s Sports Wall of Fame. From athletes to coaches to champions of change for Riverview’s recreation landscape, the impact of the 2024 inductees is far-reaching. The Sports Wall of Fame can be found proudly displayed inside the Byron Dobson Memorial Arena.

Congratulations to the following contributors to Riverview's sports, athletics, and recreation landscape on their induction into the Sports Wall of Fame.

  • Lesley A. Smyth 

  • Jeremy A. Steeves 

  • F. Bloyce Bulman 

  • Robert “Buzz” Betts 

Congratulations to all award recipients on their commitment to making Riverview a Great Place to Grow. Thank you to all partners, vendors, and team members who made the Recognizing Riverview gala a monumental success. Stay tuned for the nomination openings for the 2025 awards.

This site is powered by 100% renewable energy